Repatriation Advisory Panel 


Pou TemaraProfessor Pou Temara


Professor Pou Temara is of Tūhoe descent.

Pou is an acknowledged authority on Māori language retention, history, and customary practice. A professor at the University of Waikato, he has written numerous publications and essays on Māori history and issues affecting Māori.

Pou was recently appointed to the Waitangi Tribunal. This tribunal is charged with making recommendations on claims against Crown breaches of the Treaty of Waitangi 1840. 

Pou is also:

  • Director of Te Panekiretanga o te Reo (Institute of Excellence in the Māori Language)
  • A member of the Tūhoe Waikaremoana Māori Trust Board
  • Chairperson of Te Hui Ahurei a Tūhoe, an apolitical gathering of Tūhoe that meets twice a year to celebrate Tūhoe performing arts.


Hokimoana Te Rika HekerangiHokimoana Te Rika-Hekerangi

Panel Member

Hokimoana Te Rika-Hekerangi is of Tūhoe descent.

Hokimoana is a distinguished tribal leader and was a resident Te Papa kaumātua (elder) during the Tūhoe exhibition. She is a founding member of the Tawharangi Māori Women’s Welfare League. Her in-depth knowledge of tikanga and te reo Māori (Māori protocols and language) is well known.

Hokimoana is a former lecturer in te reo Māori at Waikato Polytechnic and the Auckland College of Education.   


Alfred Preece JnrAlfred Preece (Jnr)

Panel Member

Alfred Preece is of Moriori and Ngāti Mutunga descent. He is the mayor of Rekohu (Chatham Island), a farmer, a company director, and former Chair of the Hokotehi Moriori Trust. 





Haami Piripi

Haami Piripi

Panel Member

Haami Piripi is of Te Rārawa descent.

Haami is the Chairperson of his iwi authority, Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Rārawa. He is also former Chief Executive of Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori, New Zealand’s Māori Language Commission.

Haami is a passionate promoter of the Māori language and has had a lengthy career fostering Māori development in the public sector.



Te Kanawa PitiroiTe Kanawa Pitiroi

Panel Member

Te Kanawa Pitiroi is of Ngāti Tūwharetoa descent.

Te Kanawa is a respected kaumātua and educationalist from the Lake Taupo region. He has extensive experience in Māori, tribal, and community education initiatives. He is also a board member of the Lake Taupo Forest Trust and the Ngāti Tūwharetoa Trust.




Derek LardelliDerek Lardelli

Panel Member 

Derek Lardelli is of Ngāti Porou, Rongowhakaata, Ngāti Konohi (Ngāi Te Riwai), and Ngāti Kaipoho (Ngāi Te Aweawe) descent.

Derek is an internationally recognised tā moko (tattooing) artist. He is renowned for promoting excellence in Māori arts, particularly the visual arts and kapa haka (cultural performing arts). Major projects have included design work for Air New Zealand and the NZ Olympic and Commonwealth Games teams, composition of the All Black haka 'Kapa o Pango', creation of the Maui sculptures on Mount Hikurangi and commission works, including for the New Zealand Embassy in Cairo and international companies.

In 2004, Derek was awarded a national Arts Foundation Laureate Award. In 2007, he coached and led East Coast group Whangara mai Tawhiti to win the national kapa haka championships and gained a Master of Fine Arts (with Distinction) from Canterbury University. 2008 saw Derek honoured as an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit (ONZM)

Derek is involved in numerous community, iwi (tribal), national and international events and is currently:

  • a lecturer at Toihoukura (School of Māori Art), Tairawhiti Polytechnic
  • Chairperson of Te Uhi, a tā moko arts collective
  • a trustee of Toi Māori Aotearoa (Māori Arts New Zealand)

Aroha Mead

Panel Member 

Aroha Te Pareake Mead is of Ngāti Porou, Ngāti Awa, Tūhoe, Tūhourangi, and Ngāti Tūwharetoa descent. She is the Programme Director of Māori Business, School of Management, Victoria University of Wellington.  Aroha teaches undergraduate and postgraduate courses in Treaty claims and settlements, Māori resource management, and Māori and indigenous cultural and intellectual property issues.

She is also the Chair of the International Union for the Conservation of Nature Commission on Environmental, Economic, and Social Policy – a multi-disciplinary network of international experts.

While serving as Policy Manager for Te Puni Kōkiri’s Cultural Heritage and Indigenous Issues Unit, Aroha developed the Crown policy on repatriation, which led to the establishment of Karanga Aotearoa. 


Professor Ngapare Hopa

Panel member

Professor Hopa is of Ngāti Tūwharetoa and Ngāti Wairere descent. She was born and raised in the small Waikato town of Hukanui, just north of Hamilton.

Her secondary education was at Queen Victoria School and Epsom Girls Grammar School. She graduated from the University of Auckland with a BA in Anthropology and from Oxford University with a Diploma, BLitt, and eventually, a DPhil in Social Anthropology.

After graduating, Profesor Hopa undertook a lectureship at Auckland University, before lecturing in Pacific studies at California State University Fullerton and Irvine Valley College in the United States. Following her return to Aotearoa in 1986, Professor Hopa has continued a distinguished academic career at Waikato University, Auckland University, and Te Wānanga o Aotearoa.

In 2008, Professor Hopa was made a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to the Māori community. In 2011, she was awarded a Creative New Zealand Ngā Tohu a tā Kingi Ihaka award in recognition of her contribution to ngā toi Māori and the strengthening of Māori culture.

Professor Hopa’s interest in the repatriation of Toi moko goes back to her discovery of Toi moko at the Pitt Rivers Museum at Oxford University. She thought then that Toi moko should be returned home and is overjoyed that this is finally beginning to happen.