2012 Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement 

Tuesday 27 November 2012,  12.30pm–1.30pm
The Marae, Level 4
Free entry

Come to Te Papa to hear three of the country’s most esteemed writers read from and discuss their work.

This year’s winners of the fiction and non-fiction categories of the Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement – announced the evening before – join Peter Simpson, the recipient of the 2012 Michael King Writers’ Fellowship.

Chaired by Radio New Zealand’s Kathryn Ryan.

About the Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement

Every year, New Zealanders are invited to nominate a writer who has significantly contributed to New Zealand literature. The genres are non-fiction, poetry, and fiction.

The nominations are assessed by an expert panel, and recommendations are forwarded to Creative New Zealand for approval. The winner of each category receives $60,000.

 In 2011, Dame Fiona Kidman gained the award for fiction, Peter Bland for poetry, and James Belich for non-fiction.

See a full list of former recipients of the Prime Minister's Awards for Literary Achievement