MUSEUM OF NEW ZEALAND TE PAPA TONGAREWA

Cable St PO Box 467 Wellington New Zealand

Telephone 64-4-381 7249 www.tepapa.govt.nz



14 September 2021

Tēnā koe,

Re: Official Information Act (OIA) Request – members of the Indian community advisory group for the "Aainaa exhibition"

I am writing in response to your email dated 7 September 2021 in which you requested the following information:

I refer to the response your organisation gave Mr Luke in response to his question who was part of the Indian community advisory group for the "Aainaa exhibition" as stated below in " ".

That document states that 5 individual made up the community group but does not state who they were.

Do you have any official documentation of who they were as that document does not answer his question of who they were.

These people gave approximately 2 years of their unpaid valuable time for Tepapa but Tepapa does not appear to have any documentation it seems even to give them knowledgement as a way of courtesy. If they do then why was this document sent that does not name them?

Do you have anything that you can point to where they are named for historical value?

Furthermore, why were their names not mentioned in the document attached to the email sent to Mr Luke as it mentions other individual names but not the 5 with the exception of one name? Any reasons? Are you willing to rectify this document to include these names?

The response provided to John Luke included a link to a paper written by Stephanie Gibson 'Te Papa and New Zealand's Indian communities – a case study about exhibition development', published in Te Papa's research journal *Tuhinga*. The link is: https://www.tepapa.govt.nz/sites/default/files/tuhinga.14.2003.pt6 .p61-75.gibson 0.pdf

The paper did include the names of the community group members. They are provided in endnote 14, on page 74 of the paper (page 14 in the website link). The endnote states: 'Community Advisor

14, on page 74 of the paper (page 14 in the website link). The endnote states: 'Community Advisory Group members were: Mr Ashwin Gulab, Mrs Ruxmaniben Kasanji, Mrs Kamil Lakshman, Mrs Karuna Ranchod, and Dr Pushpa Wood.'

If you are not satisfied with this response you have the right to seek an investigation and review by the Ombudsman. Information about how to make a complaint is available at www.ombudsman.parliament.nz or freephone 0800 802 602.

If you wish to discuss any aspect of your request with us please contact Frances Lawrence at OIA@tepapa.govt.nz.

Yours sincerely



Frances Lawrence Principal Advisor Strategy, Planning and Performance