Te Papa is open. Te Papa Covid-19 information
Kei te tuwhera a Te Papa. He mōhiohio nā Te Papa mō Covid-19

Museum Hardship Fund Recipients

Recipients of funding from the Museum Hardship Fund

The Museum Hardship Fund is a contestable grant designed to address the impact of forced closures and reductions as a result of Covid-19.

Successful applicants from the first round of funding (October 2020):

  • Albertland and Districts Museums Inc 
  • Alexandra District Museum Inc: Central Stories Museum and Art Gallery
  • Bowls New Zealand Museum Charitable Trust
  • Charlotte Museum Trust
  • Cobblestones Museum Trust
  • Cromwell Museum
  • Ferrymead Heritage Park
  • Friends of Couldrey House Charitable Trust
  • Golden Bay Museum Inc
  • Holocaust Centre of New Zealand
  • Mangawhai Museum and Historical Society Inc
  • Mercury Bay Museum
  • Motuti Marae Trustees
  • Museum at Te Ahu - Far North Regional Museum Trust
  • Experience Wellington: Museums Wellington
  • Nelson Provincial Museum Puputi Taonga o Te Tai Ao
  • Ngai Tahu Maori Rock Art Trust: Te Ana Ngai Tahi Maori Rock Art Centre
  • Northern Wairoa Maori, Maritime and Pioneer Museum Society Inc: Dargaville Museum
  • Okains Bay Maori & Colonial Museum Trust
  • Oranjehof - The Dutch Connection Centre
  • Otautau Museum & Heritage Trust
  • Papakura Museum
  • Kaikohe District Historical and Mechanical Trust: Pioneer Village Kaikohe
  • Puhoi Heritage Museum Inc
  • Raglan and District Museum Society Inc
  • Rugby League Museum Society of New Zealand
  • Rugby Museum Society of New Zealand Inc
  • Russell Centennial Trust: Russell Museum
  • Shear History Trust - The Wool Shed, National Museum of Sheep & Shearing
  • South Otago Historical Society
  • Switzer Museum (Waikaia) Inc
  • Tainui Historical Society (Mokau Museum)
  • The Chatham Islands Museum & Cultural Heritage Charitable Trust
  • The Manawatu Historic Vehicle Collection Trust: The Coach House Museum
  • The South Taranaki District Museum Trust: Aotea Utanganui
  • The West Coast Society of Arts T/A The Left Bank Art Gallery
  • Tramway Historical Society Inc
  • Waiheke Musical Museum Charitable Trust
  • Waikawa District Museum Inc
  • Waipu Centennial Trust (Waipu Museum)
  • Waitomo Caves Museum
  • Wallace Gallery Morrinsville
  • Wellington Tramway Museum Inc
  • Wyndham and Districts Historical Society

Successful applicants from the second round of funding (May 2021):

  • Auckland Medical Museum Trust
  • Expressions Whirinaki Arts and Entertainment Trust
  • Katherine Mansfield Birthplace Society Inc
  • Morrinsville Historical Society Incorporated
  • Ngati Tamaoho Trust
  • Northern Buller Museum, Granity
  • Picton Historical Society Incorporated
  • Portage Ceramics Trust
  • Taranaki Pioneer Village Society Incorporated
  • Thames Museum Society Incorporated
  • The Canterbury Railway Society Incorporated
  • The Coromandel Heritage Trust
  • The National Museum of Audio Visual Arts and Sciences of NZ Trust
  • Tokomairiro Historical Society Incorporated
  • Tuapeka Goldfields Museum Society Incorporated
  • Vanished World Incorporated
  • Victoria University of Wellington Art Collection Trust
  • Warkworth and District Museum Society Incorporated
  • Western Bay Heritage Trust
  • Whangarei Museum and Heritage Trust

Applications for the next funding round open on 1 September 2021.