National Services Te Paerangi

Who we are 

Our mission

National Services Te Paerangi's mission is to strengthen the museum sector by providing practical and strategic help to museums, galleries and iwi throughout Aotearoa New Zealand.

Our goal is for museums and iwi to be significantly strengthened by increased participation in our programmes and by working collaboratively at a local and national level.

Staff contacts

National Services Te Paerangi has a core staff of seven. We are based in an office at Te Papa, and our three Development Officers travel around New Zealand assisting museums and iwi and feeding back to the team. Gavin is based in Fielding, Sally is based in Gisborne, and Judith is based in Nelson.

Victoria Esson, Manager National Services Te Paerangi

Victoria EssonVictoria, Manager National Services Te Paerangi, has worked in the museum sector for over 15 years. She has extensive experience and networks particularly within museum education.
Read more about Victoria
Phone: 04 381 7293   Email: vesson@tepapa.govt.nz  

 

Kylie Ngaropo, Manager Iwi Development

Kylie NgaropoKylie leads National Services Te Paerangi's support to iwi organisations, and works to improve communications between iwi and museums.
Read more about Kylie
Phone: 04 381 7471   Email: kylie.ngaropo@tepapa.govt.nz 

 
Gavin Reedy, Iwi Development Officer

Gavin Reedy

Gavin's main role is to provide face-to-face support to iwi and museums and increase communication and understanding between them.
Read more about Gavin
Phone: 029 6010 440   Email: gavinr@tepapa.govt.nz

 

Judith Taylor, Museum Development Officer

Judith TaylorJudith is based in Nelson and spends time visiting and giving face-to-face support to museums in the South Island.
Read more about Judith
Phone: 029 601 0410   Email: juditht@tepapa.govt.nz 

 

Sally August, Museum Development Officer

Sally AugustSally provides face-to-face support to museums in the North Island from her base in Gisborne.
Read more about Sally
Phone: 029 601 0370   Email: sally.august@tepapa.govt.nz

 

 

Tamara Patten, Communications Officer

Tamara PatternTamara is a Museum Studies graduate who has been working in the museum sector since 2008. Tamara looks after internal and external communications for the team.
Read more about Tamara
Phone: 04 381 7114   Email: tamarap@tepapa.govt.nz

 

Emma Philpott, Sector Training Coordinator

Emma PhilpottEmma is an experienced Training Coordinator who is enthusiastic about supporting New Zealand's culture and heritage sector.
Read more about Emma
Phone: 04 381 7246   Email: emma.philpott@tepapa.govt.nz