Te Poari

Te Papa’s Board is accountable to the Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage. The Minister appoints the Board, which currently has eight members.

Evan Williams (Chair)

Evan Williams

Evan Williams is a former Chairman of the law firm Chapman Tripp, and former Chair of the Auckland City Mission Board of Trustees.

Evan studied and lectured in law at Victoria University of Wellington before practising as a lawyer, specialising in domestic and international commercial law. He has significant experience advising on strategy, negotiation, and implementation for large projects in the energy and electricity sectors.

For the last 10 years, Evan has focused on property developments in New Zealand and other investments, with a strong focus on building local partnerships, and on preserving the conservation and heritage values of large coastal properties.

Evan’s recreational interests include literature, the arts, heritage and conservation, walking, and farming.

Paul Majurey

Paul Majurey

Paul F Majurey (Ngāti Maru, Ngāti Whanaunga, Ngāti Pāoa and Ngāti Tamaterā (Marutūāhu)) is a senior partner in the specialist environmental and public law firm Atkins Holm Majurey. He has represented Māori and corporate interests for nearly 30 years on Treaty and environmental law at all levels, including as senior counsel before the Privy Council and Supreme Court.

Paul has also advised on and led Treaty of Waitangi negotiations across New Zealand. He is chair of the Hauraki Collective of iwi (12 iwi), chair of the Tāmaki Collective of iwi (13 iwi/hapū) and chair of the Marutūāhu Collective of iwi (5 iwi). Paul has served on three Ministerial technical advisory groups (Treaty settlements and environmental legislative reviews), is a co-author of environmental law texts and local authority RMA Hearing Commissioner.

Dayle Mace

Dayle Mace

Dayle Mace has been a longstanding supporter and patron of both the visual arts and theatre in New Zealand. Dayle is an ardent advocate of contemporary New Zealand art and was on the Philanthropy Taskforce set up to look at and advise on philanthropy in New Zealand. 

Key positions that Dayle holds are: Trust Board member of the Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki Foundation and chair of the Auckland Art Gallery Patrons. She was founding co-chair of the Auckland Theatre Company Patrons and still holds that position today. She is also a Board member of the P.A. Edmiston Trust, the Arts Regional Trust Board and serves on the Creative Giving Reference Group. Dayle is a major donor of The Walters Prize, New Zealand's biennial contemporary art award, and was made a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2009 for services to the Arts and the Community. 

Sir Peter Gluckman

Sir Peter Gluckman

Professor Sir Peter Gluckman was the founding Director of the Liggins Institute and is one of New Zealand’s best known scientists. His research has won him numerous awards and international recognition including Fellowship of the Commonwealth’s most prestigious scientific organisation, The Royal Society (London).

In July 2009 Sir Peter Gluckman was appointed as the first Chief Science Advisor to the Prime Minister of New Zealand. In this role, he is internationally respected for his work promoting the use of evidence in policy formation and the translation of scientific knowledge into better social, economic, and environmental outcomes.

Peter is an international advocate for science, promoting the translation of discoveries in biomedical research into improvements in long term health outcomes.

Fran Wilde

Fran Wilde

Fran Wilde has had a distinguished career in national and local politics, including as a Cabinet Minister, Mayor of Wellington, and Chair of the Greater Wellington Regional Council. She has also had a career in the business sector as a company director and chair, and was CEO of the NZ Trade Development Board for six years.

As an MP, Fran sponsored the Homosexual Law Reform and Adult Adoption Information Bills. As a Minister she held the porfolios of Tourism, Disarmament, and Associate Foreign Affairs and Trade. Highlights of her term as Mayor include the development of the stadium and the adoption by the city of the “Absolutely Positively Wellington” brand, now synonymous with the capital.

Fran has been a director of numerous companies, and held diverse roles across the government and non-profit sectors, from Crown negotiator for Treaty of Waitangi Claims to Chair of the International Festival of the Arts.

Fran was awarded a CNZM in 2012, a Westpac Women of Influence Award in 2015, an honorary doctor of laws from VUW in 2004 and, in 1995, a QSO and Wellingtonian of the Year.

Soana Pamaka

Soana Pamaka

Tamaki College principal Soana Pamaka was the first Tongan to become principal of a New Zealand secondary school.

Mrs Pamaka was the schools Head of History, a Dean and Deputy Principal prior to being appointed Principal in 2006. Tamaki Colleges roll numbers and academic success has steadily increased since she began her tenure in 2006.

An advisor to the Teach First NZ Board, Soana is also a director of the Tamaki Redevelopment Company, a joint venture between Auckland Council and the Government.

Abby Foote
Image of Abby Foote

Abby Foote is an experienced director of both publicly listed and Crown companies. She has worked in a range of corporate, treasury and legal roles over the last 20 years.

A professional company director sitting on a number of boards of New Zealand companies, Abby is a Director and Chair of the Audit and Risk Committees of Z Energy Limited, BNZ Life Insurance Limited, Livestock Improvement Corporation Limited and the New Zealand Local Government Funding Agency. She is a past Director of Transpower New Zealand Limited, Diligent Corporation and Mike Pero Mortgages Limited.

A graduate of Victoria University of Wellington with qualifications in law and accounting, Abby has worked across both disciplines, focusing on corporate finance and commercial transactions.

Abby has a breadth of experience in a number of diverse areas including mergers and acquisitions, treasury and structured finance transactions, telecommunications, management of large projects and strategic development and implementation. She has a keen interest in the challenges and opportunities arising in the face of disruptive technology.

When Abby is not working, she spends her time supporting her three children's many interests, walking her dog, reading and trying to live a balanced life.

Sir Rob Fenwick

Image of Sir Rob Fenwick

Sir Rob is a conservationist, businessman and professional director with a diverse background in heritage conservation, science, iwi governance and natural history.

He led the restoration of the historic buildings in Antarctica left by early explorers Scott and Shackleton before being appointed chair of Antarctica NZ and founder of NZ Antarctic Research Institute. For Ngati Whatua he chaired the establishment board of successful broadcasting venture Mai FM and is now a director of Whai Rawa Ltd, Orakiei’s corporate board. With a love of New Zealand’s natural history he launched Predator Free NZ and Kiwis for kiwi trust, and he chairs the Sustainable Seas National Science Challenge.

Knighted for services to business and the environment, he’s an inductee of the NZ Business Hall of Fame; the Sir Peter Blake Medallist 2015; has an honorary doctorate in Natural Resources from Lincoln University, and the Fenwick Ice Piemont in Antarctica is named after him.