Rotuma Island is part of the Rotuma Group, which includes several smaller islands in the South Pacific Ocean, around 650 kilometres north of Fiji.

In 1881, Rotuma officially ceded to the United Kingdom and became part of the British Empire as part of the Colony of Fiji. It is now a self-governing dependency of Fiji after its independence in 1970. The Rotuma Group is divided into seven districts, each with its own chief.