Days in the Māori lunar month

The maramataka (Māori seasonal calendar) is based on 12 lunar months. The cycle begins with the new moon and there are 30 nights in each cycle: Whiro is the first night of the new moon, Tirea is the second night and so on until Mutuwhenua, the last night.

The cycle starts again with the appearance of the next new moon, with Whiro, Tirea, and so forth.

The following names for the days of the lunar month have been taken from the almanacs of a number of iwii tribes. The differences are only in the sequence of the phases. As many names were similar, the Māori Language Commission decided to use those employed by the majority.

All images of the moon provided courtesy of Maurice Collins