Board Te Poari

Te Papa’s Board is accountable to the Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage. The Minister appoints the Board, which currently has eight members.

Hon. Dame Fran Wilde (Chair)

Fran Wilde

Dame Fran Wilde has had a career in politics and business. Political roles included Cabinet Minister (as MP for Wellington Central), Mayor of Wellington, and Chair of the Greater Wellington Regional Council. She has been chair or director of a number of companies in the private and public sectors and was CEO of the NZ Trade Development Board for six years.

As an MP, Fran successfully sponsored the Homosexual Law Reform and Adult Adoption Information Bills. Ministerial portfolios included Tourism, Disarmament, and Foreign Affairs & Trade. Highlights of her mayoralty included development/renewal of core infrastructure, revitalisation of Wellington’s inner city and the adoption of the “Absolutely Positively Wellington” brand, now synonymous with the capital.

Fran has also held other diverse roles across the government and non-profit sectors, from Chief Crown Negotiator for Treaty of Waitangi Claims to Chair of the New Zealand International Arts Festival.

Fran was named a Dame of the NZ Order of Merit (DNZM) in 2017 and awarded a QSO in 1995. She is a politics graduate from VUW, which later named her an honorary Doctor of Laws. She is a Chartered Fellow of the NZ Institute of Directors and has been Wellingtonian of the Year and a Westpac Woman of Influence.

James Daniels

Te Arawa, Tūwharetoa, Tainui, Ngāi Tahu

Photo of James Daniels

James Daniels brings to the Board more than 30 years’ governance experience in Māori, not-for-profit, and commercial organisations. He has spent more than 40 years in broadcasting, including both behind the mic, being a founding shareholder, and on the board at More FM in Christchurch.

He represented Wairewa Rūnanga for over 19 years on Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu holding several senior roles including chairing the remuneration committee, the culturally significant sites and electoral policy committees.

James holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Valuation and Property Management) and is currently on the Board of Ngāi Tahu Property, also chairing the remuneration committee.

Sir Rob Fenwick

Image of Sir Rob Fenwick

Sir Rob is a conservationist, businessman and professional director with a diverse background in heritage conservation, science, iwi governance and natural history.

He led the restoration of the historic buildings in Antarctica left by early explorers Scott and Shackleton before being appointed chair of Antarctica NZ and founder of NZ Antarctic Research Institute. For Ngati Whatua he chaired the establishment board of successful broadcasting venture Mai FM and is now a director of Whai Rawa Ltd, Orakiei’s corporate board. With a love of New Zealand’s natural history he launched Predator Free NZ and Kiwis for kiwi trust, and he chairs the Sustainable Seas National Science Challenge.

Knighted for services to business and the environment, he’s an inductee of the NZ Business Hall of Fame; the Sir Peter Blake Medallist 2015; has an honorary doctorate in Natural Resources from Lincoln University, and the Fenwick Ice Piemont in Antarctica is named after him.

Prof. Sir Peter Gluckman

Sir Peter Gluckman

Professor Sir Peter Gluckman was the founding Director of the Liggins Institute and is one of New Zealand’s best known scientists. His research has won him numerous awards and international recognition including Fellowship of the Commonwealth’s most prestigious scientific organisation, The Royal Society (London).

In July 2009 Sir Peter Gluckman was appointed as the first Chief Science Advisor to the Prime Minister of New Zealand. In this role, he is internationally respected for his work promoting the use of evidence in policy formation and the translation of scientific knowledge into better social, economic, and environmental outcomes.

Peter is an international advocate for science, promoting the translation of discoveries in biomedical research into improvements in long term health outcomes.

Jackie Lloyd

Photo of Jackie Lloyd

Jackie Lloyd brings extensive governance experience from both private and public organisations to her role. She has a strong background in business transformation, human resources and leadership, as well as roles in the museum sector.

She is currently chair of Experience Wellington (Wellington Museums Trust), deputy chair of New Zealand Post, a director of Naylor Love and AgResearch and trustee of The Lion Foundation.

Jackie also serves on the National Council of the Institute of Directors. 

Caren Rangi

Rakahanga, Rarotonga, Aitutaki, and Mangarongaro

Photo of Caren Rangi

Caren is a proud Cook Islands Māori, who has a governance career that spans sixteen years on boards in the broadcasting, health, arts and education sectors. She is a qualified chartered accountant and is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand.

Her current Board roles include Deputy Chair of the Arts Council of New Zealand (Creative New Zealand), Director, Pacific Cooperation Broadcasting Ltd, Trustee, Pacific Homecare Services and Director, Pacific Inc Ltd (trading as Le Va). Caren is also a Director of the Cook Islands Investment Corporation in Rarotonga. In addition to her Board roles, Caren is an Associate of the Centre for Social Impact.

Caren’s service to governance and leadership was recognised with the awarding of a 2016 New Zealander of the Year Local Hero Award, and the 2018 Linden Estate Hawke’s Bay Business Leader of the Year. In 2018 she was conferred with an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2018, for services to governance and the Pacific community.

Caren is passionate about supporting her Cook Islands and Pacific communities in New Zealand to achieve their aspirations and to contribute to New Zealand’s success.

Prof. Jacinta Ruru

Raukawa, Ngāti Ranginui

Photo of Jacinta Ruru

Jacinta Ruru is an award-winning Professor of Law at the University of Otago, Co-Director of Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga New Zealand’s Centre of Māori Research Excellence, fellow of the Royal Society Te Apārangi, and recipient of the New Zealand’s Prime Minister’s Supreme Award for Excellence in Tertiary Teaching.

Her extensive research considers Indigenous’ peoples’ rights, interests and responsibilities to own and care for lands and waters. She holds a PhD from the University of Victoria, Canada, and has multi-disciplinary research collaborations around the world. Jacinta advocates for the flourishing of Māori research and learning and is passionate about local community solutions for building resilience.